King Gospel Concert Highlights

Search form

Todd's Two Too! - June 23, 2017

Todd Wahoske's picture
  1. Kevin Morby - City Music - 6:44

  2. Kevin Morby - 1234 - 1:47

  3. Fleet Foxes - If You Need to, Keep Time on Me - 3:31

  4. Fleet Foxes - Fool’s Errand - 4:48


Kevin Morby - City Music

Kevin Morby - City Music - Dead Oceans

Kevin Morby is an American musician, singer and songwriter. Formerly known as the bass guitarist of the folk rock band Woods and as the frontman of The Babies.

Kevin Morby’s captivating fourth album, CIty Music possesses Morby’s hopelessly optimistic songwriting in the best form it has ever been.

City Music

"I first wrote this song on the banjo — my initial intent for it to be an instrumental piece — many years ago. Then, one day at band practice, I started playing it on my guitar while we were getting set up and the band jumped in and we developed it together. I had always loved it and wanted to use it for something, and was happy that it found a home on this record. We gave it a real Marquee Moon [an album by the band Television] makeover with my guitarist Meg Duffy's 'guitarmonies.' I wanted the lyrics to be as simple as possible — for the music to convey the real feeling and the lyrics to only act as a sort of guide. To me, the music represents what it feels like to walk through a photogenic part of a city alone, lost in your own world while surrounded by many. I call this 'city music.'"


"This began as a sort of joke to myself. I wanted to write a song called '#1234' that would act as a homage to The Ramones. While writing it I thought, 'what better way to pay homage than to just name off the original lineup [of the band] one by one?' Once I had done that, I decided to tie a neat little bow on it by lifting the refrain off the chorus of one of my favorite songs ever, 'People Who Died' by Jim Carroll. I do not know what kind of relationship Jim Carroll and The Ramones had, though I imagine they all knew each other, as they ran in the same scene. So let it be known: This song is dedicated to Joey, Johnny, Dee Dee and Tommy Ramone as well as Jim Carroll. May they all rest in peace and be wearing leather jackets in rock 'n' roll heaven."


Fleet Foxes - Crack-Up

Fleet Foxes - Crack-Up - Nonesuch Records

Fleet Foxes is an American indie folk band formed in Seattle, Washington. The band came to prominence in 2008 with the release of their second EP, Sun Giant, and their self-titled debut album. Both received much critical praise and reviewers often noted the band's use of refined lyrics and vocal harmonies.

Their third studio album, Crack-Up was released on June 16, 2017 as the follow-up to their 2011 album Helplessness Blues, Crack-Up is the band's first release on Nonesuch Records. It is their first release in six years, following a three-year hiatus from 2013 to 2016.

In his review for AllMusic, Timothy Monger wrote that the album was, "Orchestral, experimental, and more challenging than either of the band's previous releases, it's a natural fit for the Nonesuch label, whose heritage was built on such attributes. For Fleet Foxes, it represents a shift away from their more idyllic early days into a period of artistic growth and sophistication. "